<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built my son a house with 35000 KES, bought a bed and two mattresses with 10000 KES and spent 50000 KES on buying clothes for my children and smearing my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am happy to have build a house for my elder son who was homeless and physically challenged.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying 2goats,1 sack of maize & clothes for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house for my son.I also want to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy goats to keep with the first transfer. I also plan to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my children. I will use the remaining balance to build a latrine and also buy a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that makes me proud is that I have tried so hard as a widow and managed to build a iron-roofed house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is finding money to pay school fees for my six children being that I am a widow and I don't have anybody around to support me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when am able to find food for my family.