GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on David's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 18,600 KES and poles at 5,400 KES as part of materials to begin constructing my house. I also paid bride price for 15,000 KES and bought house furniture for 5,800 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am living in another person's house as I haven't built mine yet, so owning house once I begin construction will be a huge difference to me since I will have a place to call my own.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of house construction materials.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on more materials and construction of a new house
access_time over 4 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build iron roofed house to a new house since l do have a house. Secondly l would wish to buy a motorbike to help me generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to pay
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have managed to buy household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is shelter since we do not have a house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in when having dinner with my family.