chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($479 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I have been able to boost my business with ease. Through the transfers, I managed to add shoes among the items which I normally I sell in my shop. I never used to sell shoes before but when I realized its demand, I felt that it was important to try selling them. I used to be a hawker. I would hawk well in the streets of Nairobi but I never used to get much because I had few clients since I didn't have a variety of goods to sell. I am glad that I get enough money to run the business and the best part of it is that I am able to save. Very soon I will be able to achieve my long term goals.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I do not have a new goal at the moment. I still want to save money and buy land one day. I want to have a place where I can call home and this is why I have already started saving. I have suffered for a long time paying rent and I wish I would settle soon. I will work hard and ensure that this goal is achieved sooner or later
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to boos my business. I sell shoes and clothes. Previously I could hawk which was tiresome and demoralizing. But when I got the money and put up a business premise, I have seen a lot of change because I don't get tired since my customers still remember me from my hawking business so I do not t put much effort marketing and advertising my business. I also feel good because I no longer walk around unlike before but relax as I use the time to organize my good ready for sales. I finally kept the remaining amount as savings for future plans and emergencies.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($360 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My business has really grown since I started receiving GiveDirectly transfers because I was able to stock more clothes and made more sales before adding an extra business on shoes. I currently make much more profits that I would never have had I not received money from GiveDirectly to boost my business. This has enabled me to easily take care of my household needs and support my husband more financially.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My clothes and shoe businesses are doing so great and I would wish to invest more in such. I have a plan of having another branch in the form of a boutique or a permanent stall where I will be selling some of the items. I am currently selling them in non-permanent mobile locations which are doing me a favour because I am not obligated to pay rent. This saves me money, but I would also like to have a permanent place as well so that my customers would have a reference point when they want to buy goods from me.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used part of my second transfer in starting an extra business of selling shoes to supplement the clothes one I had before. I also decide to clear my son's school fees for the entire year so that I would not be worried about him being sent back from school due to fee balances when the rest of his classmates are studying. I then saved the rest of the money through our table banking group.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($198 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Before GiveDirectly came, I was a college drop out where I was studying hairdressing and beauty due to lack of college fees because my parents who were supporting me had financial constraints hence pursue my education wasn't a priority. My new goal is to used part of GiveDirectly's transfers for my education.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Previously, my business of selling second-hand clothes was at the verge of collapsing and I had taken debts from my friends which I wasn't able to pay on time. This created enmity between us and when I had my problems I could sort them by myself and because I couldn't deal with all of the I almost became depressed. The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to boost my business and my customers are able to get their preferred items hence my profits to have double. Through these doubled profits , I have been able to settle these debts hence my mind is at peace.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent transfer on boosting my business of vending second-hand clothes and now the profits are handy to assist me in providing for my family with ease. The remaining amount I enrolled my child in a nursery school hence seeing her go to school makes me glad and happy.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was in the morning when I woke up and decided to check the time on my phone. I noticed an Mpesa message notification on my phone and looking through it. I jumped out of joy when I realized that GiveDirectly had sent me money because I was certain that I will be able to solve most of my problems with the transfers that shall have a positive impact in my living standards.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to invest in my business of selling second clothes. Normally I sell them on small quantity due to inadequate capital. That is why I will expand the business by buying new stocks including a full bale. That way I will have a variety of different clothes to sell to my different target market. Money from my business will help me improve my family's life financially. I want to pay for my child's school fees. She is about to start school next year but I have been worried on where to get her school fees. She will be able to get education and get a chance to progress in life. Thirdly I will use money given to me to help my family whenever they require money. My grandfather and my aunt support me from time to time. So I will help them with money for agriculture to buy seeds and pay for harvesting labour.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is gang violence and crime because, I live in fear of losing my life and that of my family. My neighbourhood is not secured enough, and youths who are idle or with no opportunities in life tend to be involved in crime gangs. This has made it insecure to even go out at night in some places. My top concern brings me to my concern of housing. I want to move to a better and safe home with my family and get out of the current neighborhood I reside in I also worry for the general security of people in my neighbourhood. Police usually patrol and provide security but most of the time, there have been killings by police and harassment on the youths in Mathare and other slums.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions in life are; to be in Gods favour, be blessed with a good job, own a big cosmetic and boutique shop here in Mathare. With all these I will be able to provide for my family, have an improved life and make sure my child gets the best education in order to be great in life.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up early in the morning, pray then start by cleaning the house, conducting all house chores and ensuring my child is clean and fed. Then I take the clothes I am to sell and go to work. Before starting work, I take my child to my sister in -law's house so that she can help me take care of her as I go to work. Normally I hawk the clothes I have depending with the price market, the clothes range from female clothes to children clothes. I walk around the whole day just to make sure I sell some clothes before going home. Then I go back home in the evening, prepare food then go to sleep and wait for the next day. During my free time I help out at Good Samaritan children's home or visit my aunt in Eastleigh.