<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying 2 cows.I also bought 12 iron sheets and nails,paid school fees and added capital to my fish business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have cows that am planning to plough .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of bed and bedding, seats and land preparation.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend the upcoming lump sum payment on buying 2 bulls and a traditional plough, and also pay school fee for our child
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying two bulls that we can use to plough our farm as we currently don't have any, I will use part of the transfer to build a bigger house as the one we are currently staying in is very small, I will also use part of the transfer on paying school fees for our four children who are attending a local academy schools and the remainder we will use to invest in our business of selling fish so that we can have enough stock to sell.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that since I got married, God has blessed us and enabled us to have a family and build our own home that we currently stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we are sick and because of insufficient funds,we are not able to afford proper medical attention.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is that when I wake up in the morning and I go to the market to sell fish,I am happy when I sell some fish because the money that I get I will use to buy food that we will eat at home.