GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
50
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($465 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I am a businesswoman, but unfortunately it collapsed due to lack of funds until I got the third transfer that I spent some on reviving. This has made me go back to my normal life and taking care of my family more comfortably. The remaining I spent paying school fees for my two children in secondary school.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I am planning to build my house so l bought some building materials at 23900 KES, l bought 1 sack of maize at 3500 KES, l bought 2 goats at 4600 KES, l also bought utensils at 1200 KES, the remaining balance l spent to buy food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There is a big difference in my life because everybody was laughing at me in the village since my son and I did not have a proper house and my children also can now go to school with out any difficulties.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I cleared secondary school fees balance for my 2 children with the whole of my token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will extend my main house and educate my children with the whole of my first upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend it on school fees for my two children in secondary I plan to build a bigger house for myself I plan to start a business of selling sugar
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is the fact that I managed to educate my children alone upto secondary school yet my husband died while they were still in primary
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is feeding my children and educating them
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the evening when am now resting after finishing my casual labours