chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Dama's Profile
Dama's family
Dama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
42
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($528 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than how it would have been if I had not received the transfers in that, I would have managed to take both of my children to high school at ago. One would have stayed at home for some time. I had plans of buying a cow but it would have taken a bit longer than expected to I did not have ready money. But GD brought my dream closer than I had imagined.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I think GD has raised the living standards of very many people in our community. I cannot open my mount and say that there is anything that GD did and it was out of place or rather did not settle well with us.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
The money came in at a good time when my two daughters were joining secondary school. I spent Kes 30000 to purchase the requirements needed during their admission. This helped reduce the burden because I had planned to take one to school and have the other wait but GD made it possible to admit both of them. The remaining amount I bought a cow for rearing purposes. This had been my desire for quite some time bow.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($541 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My desire has been to provide my children with quality education up to the university level and acquiring jobs that will sustain their lives. This wish has never materialized due to financial challenges, since educating 8 children is so expensive. Currently 6 children are in primary school with 2 in class 8 and are about to join secondary school next year. My firstborn has completed form 4 but has not been able to join college. Receiving this money means realization of my longterm dream as l am planning to spend $500 to take the elder daughter to college.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Being a house wife my mornings and afternoon hours are always busy portion of my day. This is because, it is at this time that I perform my household activities like fetching water and collecting firewood. In the evening, I usually have enough time to relax and have chats with my family members. Hence, I consider evening as the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Being a housewife I am forced to depend on my husband who is a teacher. His earning is rarely enough to accommodate the needs of our family. In spite of my first child having completed secondary school, she has never joined college, something that has eaten my joy and consequently, giving me sleepless nights. Therefore, financial instability has always been my hardship.