chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benard's Profile
Benard's family
Benard
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 13 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I am not being rained on like it use to be while I was riding motorcycle taxi. I get to generate income through sale of products at the shop. This job is not so strainious unlike motorcycle taxi business which I would always be exhausted at the end of the day.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I am glad that GiveDirectly change the lives of many in my village. Our standard of living has really improved. On behalf of others I say a big thankyou for the support. There was none which was not done well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
For the last one decade, I have been a motorcycle taxi rider and through this business I have been able to meet my daily needs and save some. As at early this year, I had saved a total of KES 200000 which was just slightly below my target for investing. When I received my second transfers, I put together with the savings which I had made from taxi business and spent the whole amount on buying stock for my new shop at a nearby shopping center. I opted to venture into retail business so that I would have a reliable source of income. Again, I saw it was the best time for me to take a rest from operating a motorcycle taxi since it's a health risk business. Prolonged service would expose one to diseases like pneumonia.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the Mpesa notification message at around seven in the morning while taking tea. I was very happy and immediately went to nearest Mpesa to withdraw the money because I couldn't wait any longer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is purchase of an additional high quality dairy cow which would not be possible because I could not afford it.This will act as long term asset and source of income for my family hence financial future is assurred. While at home I am very happy because my house is now completely furnished with ceiling board and sofa set seaters hence more cosy than before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent 350 Dollars on a dairy cow as an additional cow to increase milk production and as alternative especially when one cow is it's dry period. I also spent 60 Dollars on sofa set cushions, 35 Dollars on ceiling boards and 15 Dollars on labor because my house was incomplete. 40 USD was spent on family clothin, 35 USD on ten chicken layers as a source of income for my family and 12 USD on maize meal and sugar.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
As a family-head and the primary breadwinner, the little income I get from the motorcycle taxi services I offer in my neighborhood is just enough to meet our basic needs. As such, I have never managed to buy another cow to ensure continued presence of milk for consumption by my family members. In our community, milk serves as a priceless staple food. Hence, I have been spending significant amount of money buying milk on daily basis. Thus, receiving this money means that I shall be saving some of income because I shall buy another cow that will provide us with more milk.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am returning home from my motorcycle taxi job with some income. This serves as a motivation that would enable me wake up very early in the morning the next day with the hope of attaining even more income. Without the motorcycle taxi job, I think my family cannot afford to get the basic needs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I was brought up in a family that does not value education. Besides, my parents were relatively poor and engaged mainly on brewing and selling local alcoholic beverages. Accordingly, I was forced to drop out of school before attaining grade 8 since my parents could not pay school fees nor provide me with all the basic needs. As such, my dream of joining the Kenya Police service disappeared. Hence, the biggest hardship I have faced in life is dropping out of school before accomplishing grade 12 which act as the minimum requirement for an individual to join the Kenya Police service.