chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 20,400 KES, poles at 11,200 KES and a wooden door at 5,000 KES as part of materials for construction of my house. I also bought a mattress for 5,000 KES. The rest of the transfer will be used to buy other construction materials.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I currently live in a very small house that is not enough to contain my family, we are squeezed in it. So after completion of my house, I'll be able to move into a big house which is spacious enough to hold us.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the to pay my son in high school fee. I also purchased grains for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because the current one I have is too small. I'm also planning to invest the rest in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my child who is to join college. Secondly l would wish to expand my house because my house is very small and can not accommodate my family. Finally l would like to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to educate my son upto high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of day is in morning when having breakfast with my family.