chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Chadi's Profile
Chadi's family
Chadi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
58
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Chadi's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($514 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
sdI learned that I had received my first transfer at exactly 7 in the morning. I felt so happy and I knew that my dream of having livestock shall come true.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the fact that I now own goats. I am positive that very soon they will multiply because currently, some have started reproducing. My plan is when the offspring multiply and mature, I will be selling them to the nearby markets and save the money with the aim of starting another project like starting a hotel business. Through that, the income will be helpful to cater to my family's basic needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some five goats, ox, and ducks. I have been loving to keep them in my compound for so long but I could not afford it since they were very expensive. I later bought an ox plough at KES 7000. I also bought some building poles, iron sheets, nails, and timber. This was for the construction of a new house since the previous one was in deplorable condition. The remaining amount of money, I bought sufficient foodstuffs for my family that would take us a months time.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this transfer means renovating my house which is almost collapsing but due to financial constraints, this dream has never materialized. I am planning to spend $ 90 repairing it. Other than the house I will use $ 150 to purchase a 100 watts solar and battery this will be a source of electricity to my house and enable my children to study with easy at night. The solar will also serve as a small business to me because I will be charging people's phones. In a day I can charge at least 10 phones for 20 shillings. This is enough to sustain my family in a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Morning is my happiest part of the day. It is at this time when I wake up and thank God for granting me good health which enables me to continue with my daily chores.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of adequate capital has been my biggest challenge to face. I am a shepherd who earns $ 25 in a month. This amount is enough to sustain my family.