chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Titus's Profile
Titus's family
Titus
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that I started a long term project of building rental houses. I am hopeful that I will finish by January. I had once thought of taking a loan but on second thought, I changed my mind because I felt I might fail to pay the loan. I am glad that I was able to achieve my goal without the loan
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goals are; to do the final finishes in my rental houses. I am expecting them to be ready by the next two months. I will receive my first rent from my tenants three months from now. I also want to focus on saving in order to buy another piece of land. I am good at doing rental houses business that is why I want to work hard and establish more houses in the near future. This will eventually uplift my living standards.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had bought a piece of land a few years back. When I received my first transfers, I decided to invest in this land. I used all the money I received from this organization to build rental houses in that land. I am in the process of building three houses which will be finished in January. This is a longterm investment that will help me even when I am old. In the past, I had tried different kinds of business which ended up collapsing since I have never had an interest in doing business. I am happy that this will not engage me so much, I only have to wait for the end month to pick my money from my tenants.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
37152 KES ($361 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I was able to settle my bills with ease courtesy of GiveDirectly's transfer. My business has not been doing well and I thank GiveDirectly because the money came in handy.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to boost my business. I normally have a cosmetic shop which I have been operating from last year. I am certain that when this business succeeds, I will be able to hand my primary and secondary needs easily.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to purchase seats. I used to sit on benches. A fire incident had destroyed all my property and I had to start all over again. Apart from buying seats, I also managed to clear the school fees balance for my two children. I finally gave my wife the remaining amount of money for shopping in the house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($194 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to expand my wife's business by adding mobile banking services ( M-pesa). I want my customers to get all the services under one roof. After learning business tactics from my wife, I will even quit the odd jobs and help her run it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily is that I do not struggle so much doing casual jobs because, after boosting my wife's business we now make more profits which we use for our daily upkeep. Before then, if she did not get enough profits, I had to borrow from friends to meet our needs. Now that the business is doing well, we can use the profits. I also do not have to strain so much overworking my self on casual jobs to get money but instead, I come home early after work to bond with my family.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to boost my wife's business. I am a casual laborer and when I go without money, we normally depend on the profits. I am not good at doing business and for this reason, I opted to boost my wife's because I did not want to start something that could have failed. Apart from that, I cleared fee balances for my two children. I am glad that they will no longer miss lessons unlike before when they could be sent home due to fee arrears. The remaining amount was spent on buying food.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer, I felt very happy. I read the message in the morning and out of joy I shared the good news with my wife. We just reflected on many goals that for years we had been yearning to accomplish but finally settled on boosting my wife's business.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to start a butchery. I have a house where I stay which I had rented it and mainly used as a butchery. It will provides a ready market for my business since people know that place. Due to high population in my area, I expect to make alot of profit in return. Secondly, I will support my wife's cosmetic shop. That work that has kept us going since our house burned down after fire broke out in our residence in February. Thirdly, I will support my children education. This will enable them to have a bright future because education is the key to success. They will be able to compete in the job market and be able to sustain their lives.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is the health of my children because when they get sick at night, to get medication is so difficult. Due to lack of a stable source of income, I might find difficulty in having them have proper medication. Sometimes movements in my area at night are restricted because of crime. Getting sick at night is one of the worst moment I would not want.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful businessman in future. I would want to own a car bazaar. I will be able to employ many youths in my area. This will enable my family to live a good life and be able to move them out of slums. I will be able to provide them with food, shelter and clothing and good education.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up early in the morning at 6:30am. Take bath, have breakfast then I take my children to school. I reach my workplace at 8:00am, when I have work. When I don't have work, I am round my area doing casual works. In the evening I go to my wife's cosmetic shop to release her to prepare for supper and attend other household chores. On Sundays I go to church and on my free time I like to watch television sermon preaching or news or watch football.