<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Onyango's Profile
Onyango's family
Onyango
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Shopkeeper
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Onyango's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I built a semi-permanent kiosk of 22 iron sheets that cost me 30000 KES, I added more stock in this general shop with 5000 KES, and I enrolled my wife in Early Childhood Development course with the remaining 15000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has enabled me build my own Kiosk and therefore I don't need to pay rent any more and this has enabled me increase my profits and provide for my household needs more adequately, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a solar light at 4,000 KES, I also boosted my business with 5,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a permanent kiosk.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to expand my business so as to make more profit, plaster my house to prevent dust and and improve my business premise by building it with stones and iron.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a house that I built using my savings from the small business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack a proper source of income and I am afraid that I might have a had time educating my children in high school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I set off for work at my shop because it's my main source of income.