<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Diana's Profile
Diana's family
Diana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Diana's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to build a house and a kitchen.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a iron walled house but now built a iron roof house which is bigger and comfortable.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 7,000 KES to settle some debts. I also bought my child in school some books.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house. My current house is too small and in bad shape.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy materials to be used to build a better house for my family, build a pit latrine and finally use the rest of the transfers to pay school fees for my son who is in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked at the lakeside doing odd jobs with my spouse and eventually we managed to save enough money to be enable us pay school fees for our son who is in secondary school, we also managed to buy a motorcycle which we use as a taxi.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for my spouse thus we fear that we will not be able to pay school fees for our son, this means that he might be forced to drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am at the lakeside buying fish from fishermen offloading their catch. The atmosphere is often very merry with almost everyone laughing and this makes me very happy.