chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Teresa's Profile
Teresa's family
Teresa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of my second transfer on building an iron roofed house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have an iron roofed house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l use this money to build my hpuse so l bought 15 iron-sheet at 9000 kshs, l aslo bought timber at 18000 kshs, steel door 6000 kshs, 2 windows at 6000 kshs, l aslo use 5000 kshs to pay labour and the remaining 15000 kshs l use to buy sand.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
you have really helped me a lot because if it was not for GD l could not have a house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to purchase some building materials( timber and iron nails)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use the entire first lumpsum to build a spacious iron roofed house and furnish it.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new house in my own compound
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My greatest achievement in life that I am proud of is being able to educate my children upto secondary level
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right is the burden of school fees I have two children in secondary school
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of when I wake up healthy and I am able to do my chores and go to the farm