chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Velmah's Profile
Velmah's family
Velmah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Janitor/porter (works for others)
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Velmah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I never received the transfer since I have been able to buy some building materials. I could not have afforded this if I only depended on my initial source of income. I have also been able to join college and I am currently pursuing a course in hairdressing and beauty. I would have never done any course in the first place were it not for Give Directly to intervene. I like the progress I am making in life ever since GiveDirectly came into my life. With all this, I believe that my life will always continue changing and I thank the Almighty for making this come into reality.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
The new goal I now have in my life that I didn't have before receiving the transfer is to start a salon business. This is because I am currently pursuing a course in hairdressing and beauty. After I have acquired the skills and knowledge of how to run this market, I am confident that this business idea will be successful. I could not have thought that I would one day start such a business but since I was able to afford college fees courtesy of GiveDirectly, it opened doors for me. I am glad that I am growing and my life has improved greatly and will always improve even after when the program will have ended.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the whole amount from my most recent transfer in buying building materials. I am intending to build a permanent house back at home. I have always been praying to God to help me get money to use in building a house. When I finally got the means to have the house built I did not hesitate. I recently bought irons sheets and timber. I am hopeful I will soon finish building the house. This will always make me comfortable visiting my inlaws since I will be having a place to lay my head on unlike before where I would sleep in the kitchen together with my inlaws children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($199 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goals are now to open up my own salon and also a retail shop.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I can complete my hairdressing course that I was to drop out beginning of this year.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to clear my two months rent arrears, to pay school fees for my four year old daughter and to pay for my hairdressing college fee. I am currently partaking a course in hairdressing. My husband is a Mechanic and he lacked clients for a few months late last year, that he even failed to pay rent for a few months last year. His jobs can be hard to come-by at times. He was out of work for a while and I was also dropping out of college. I was very grateful for the transfers as I went back to college to complete my course, I was able to pay rent and my child also stayed in school.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was still asleep when I heard a message come into my phone, I checked my phone and at first when I saw the message I thought someone had sent money to my phone mistakenly. I was very happy when I finally realized that it was the transfers from Give Directly. I knew I would clear the rent arrears we had and live in peace with no debts.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to use the money in get to invest in my education. I went fora hairdressing and beauty course but was not able to finish it due to lack of funds. Once I finish this course I can put my skills and talent to making sure I get money by opening a salon to Carter for my clients needs and bring service to my clients. I will also us the money to help pay for my sisters secondary education. I will have chipped in in helping my parents that way and she can get better education. Last but not least I will use this money to pay out debt and loan.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is debt because, whenever I owe someone money I live in fear, I can never be comfortable as well. This results to stress level going up, because sometimes one borrows money but is not able to pay back or know how to pay back. Debt might also create some distance and fear among friends, through gossip and enemity.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be a successful businesswoman. I want to finish my hairdressing course, be able to open a salon and provide quality and affordable services to my clients. Once I have achieved this then I will be able to provide for my family, help improve my family's life by paying fees for my siblings, building my mother a house and also grow financially.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up do some house chores then go to work. I work as a house help in Eastleigh. I ensure all my days work is done then go back home in the evening to take care of my family. During my free time I relax spend time with my friends and family, watch TV .