chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Priscillar's Profile
Priscillar's family
Priscillar
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Priscillar's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was busy washing clothes at around 1130Hrs when I heard a message come into my phone. When I checked the message, it was the Mpesa message for the transfers. I was very excited and I showed my husband the message. We then started planning on how we would spend the transfers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I was able to begin a welding business. I have always had this business in mind but I lacked the finances to begin the business. I was very happy when I received the transfers as I can finally begin the business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to buy a welding machine and some materials for welding in order to start a welding business. I have always had this business in mind, only that I lacked capital to begin. I am happy I can finally start the business. I used to work at a salon before whereby I would make ladies' hair for some pay. My husband hawks solar panels at the market and in the neighborhood. We have two children. I would have never raised the money to start the business. I am grateful to GiveDirectly.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am hairdresser by profession but I have not been practising it fully due to lack of equipment and good space. The much I do is serving my clients at my house and I offer very limited services. My ambition has always been to start a salon business in my village because people travel all the way to Bamba, for services that require tools like a hair dryer. Receiving this money therefore means achieving my dream of becoming an independent woman and save myself the agony of depending on my husband fully for a living.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I am done with my household chores. I get to spend time with my sisters in law under a shade as we shelter from the scorching sun. Their company is really enjoyable because of the funny stories we share.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial instability as a result of lack of a stable job is my biggest hardship. My husband who is the sole bread winner, does not earn enough from his marketing job which is commission based. Things have become extra difficult with this pandemic where people have to prioritize the very essential needs. Thus it is common for him to go a whole day without selling any solar panel. This situation has made it hard for us to meet our needs fully.