chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Martin's Profile
Martin's family
Martin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
61
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Martin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid school fees for 20,000 KES, bought personal effects for my child worth 4,000 KES andbought a cow for 15,000 KES. I also paid school fees for disabled child for 4,000 KES and bought a sheep for 3,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I did not know how I would pay school fees for my children and thought they would just be staying at home with me. But now, am quite relieved that they are able to consistently go to school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 3,000 KES to settle some debt. I paid 4,000 KES fee to my son in special school. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both floor and walls of my house because it is earth at the moment and requires frequent repairs. I'm also planning to invest the remaining amount in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my son who is deaf and dumb, buy materials to be used to enlarge my house and buy some cows which I can milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was having worked as a fisherman for many years and ultimately saved enough money to build my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of insufficient income, this often means that my children are sent home from school due to school fees arrears.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up, this is because I am able to get up and carry out my daily tasks and I can also thank the Lord for granting me life.