chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Moses's Profile
Moses's family
Moses
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
54
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Moses's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my son with 5000 KES of my token payment, we invested 3000 KES in grocery business and we spent the remaining 2000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When we will receive our upcoming lumpsum payment, we will buy building materials and move to my own home.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building my own house so that we can move out of the rented house, I am a fisherman and my boat is broken so I will spend part of the transfer on buying some timber that I will use to repair the boat so that I can resume fishing and I will also use some money to buy two bulls that I can use in ploughing my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to work very hard as a fisherman and managed to take my child to school till he finished secondary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I am constantly falling ill due to malaria and this prevents me from going to work making my family to face tough times like going to bed hungry as I am the sole breadwinner.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to Lake Victoria in the morning and I am able to get fish,I am happy as I have got food to feed my family and money that I can use to provide other basic needs for my family like buying clothes and paying school fees.