GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Horace's Profile
Horace's family
Horace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Horace's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought building materials (iron sheets, timber, nails) at 22,000 KES. I spent 11,000 KES on school fees the rest on dowry payment, clothes and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I empowered my wife to start a shop business which has since provided a source of income and has curbed idleness.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 3,000KES for school fees, and spent 1,000KES on buying school uniform. I also spent 4,000KES on capital to start a vegetable and fish selling business. The remaining 2,000KES was spent on household expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I hope to move to my own home, buy ironsheet and build an iron roofed house. I plan to buy a boat for fishing because am currently working for someone else using his boat. I wish to be self employed to increase my income.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to expand my house because I have my siblings which were left behind by my late parents. Secondly l would wish to buy fishing nets to enable me do fishing in a better way. l would also like to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my siblings.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement are that l have struggled to up bring my siblings after the death of my parents and I have also worked hard and built my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I have done fishing and some food to take home.