GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Joyce's Profile
Joyce's family
Joyce
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
68
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid a debt of 10000 KES, school fees 10000 KES, labor charges for building 15000 KES, spent 7000 KES on transportation of building materials and the rest on food and other household stuffs.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of educating my grandchildren and finishing my house
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I am currently living in a bigger and better house than before. I used to live in a house that was leaking.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy iron sheets (32000), a steel door (7000) and paid fee for my grandchild (10000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My daughter passed on and left me with six children to raise it has been very hectic but GD has helped me buy food and pay school fee for them, I am so thankful and just wish this transfers could come to me on a monthly basis, my grandchildren's life and mine could change because they would study without fear and food would never be an issue. I thank God for GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on loan repayment to KWFT, Tailoring training deposit for my orphaned grand-daughter, and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on construction of a new house with a metal door , and also pay more Tailoring training fee for my grand-child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay a debt of Kshs.10,000 that I owe. I also plan to spend the transfer to build a house. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my grandchild who is in high school. I also plan to use the transfer to buy school uniforms for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to construct a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is when one of my son killed his brother and he later died. It was so traumatising.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding.