chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Tobias's Profile
Tobias's family
Tobias
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($530 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($541 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my family now has a cozy home and my children feed and dress well unlike before we had to put up in my brother's house where we were squeezed and the food was not a guarantee for sometimes we could sleep on empty stomachs.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer I was filled with so much joy for I knew that my dream of building a home for my family was finally going to be actualized. This had been my desire for quite a long time but what was standing between me and the dream were finances.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I did spend my first transfer to purchase 25 pieces of iron sheets and timber to help me build a house. Initially, I used to stay with my brother but I really desired to be independent by owning my own home but this was a challenge because of low income from my motorcycle business. Besides that, I bought my children new clothes and bought enough food to take us through the whole month.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to build a home. I will use the transfer to buy a parcel of land and building material which I have not been able to do because the little earning from my business have been going into buying my family food, clothes and medical needs. I shall no longer be paying rent and all my savings would go into purchase of lifestock and expansion of my business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is usually in the morning when I wake up. Most of the nights my children cry because of the uncomfortable weather caused by coldness as a result of rainy nights.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life was low sales during the post election violence. I recorded very low sales and I was not able to pay rent for three months to my previous landlord that prompted him to kick me out of his premise without notice. I had to settle for this iron sheet structure that cost low rent though most of the time my little children are affected by cold weather in the nights which has made life even more painful with the little children getting hospitalized every now and then.