chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Goretty's Profile
Goretty's family
Goretty
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
44
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on the acquisition of tender. I am very happy because I was able to supply firewood to a local secondary school and eventually when the school paid me up the money I had invested doubled up thanks to GiveDirectly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my entire second transfer to pay college fees for my two children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that, I now dont have any stress related to fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy clothes KES 3000, a bag of maize KES 3600 and food KES 2400.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay university fees for my child and give her pocket money.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on school fees for our children. We have children in high school, and currently we are struggling to pay their fees in time.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is starting some little poultry project in my compound, which provides my family with meat and eggs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of money to effectively provide for my family's needs, and especially given that I have an elderly parent who also depends on me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am feeding my chicken.