GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Briton's Profile
Briton's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Briton's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 26 iron sheets at 18,200 KES, 30 roofing poles at 5,400 KES, 31 wall poles at 6,200 KES, seven kilograms of nails at 1,400 KES, used 2,000 KES on transport, paid 4,000 KES labour charge, a sofaset at 7,000 KES, a sack of at 3,200 KES, then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now in a better house that gives me no worries as the previous one that was about to fall on us.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We bought a bed 3500 KES, a mattress 3500 KES, clothes 1500 KES and spent the rest of the payment on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to buy a cow and build a house with the upcoming lumpsum transfer.
access_time over 5 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a toilet by using the first transfer as we currently don't have one,the second transfer I will spend on buying four bulls that we can use in ploughing our farm and the third transfer I will use to buy a piece of land so that I can build a house on for my family as where we are there is no space for me to build a better house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have worked really hard and managed to buy two cows that I will use to pay dowry for my wife.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of getting medical attention and food because the money that I get from my work is very little and I cannot manage to use it in getting proper treatment for my family whenever they are sick and at the same time it cannot afford them a good meal as they are forced to drink water during supper time with no other meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to our farm in the morning and I do some planting and weeding of my crops,then I have hope that my family will have food to eat when harvest time comes and this makes me happy.