GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,500 KES, Roofing poles, Nails and fisher boards at 4,460 KES, wall poles at 6,300 KES, a lorry of clay soils at 4,000 KES, one wooden door at 3,500 KES, paid 4,000 KES labour charge, 2,000 KES transportation fee, used 2,000 KES on food for the workers, one mattress at 1,500 KES, four cushions at 1,500 KES, a solar lamp at 1,000 KES, three cow ropes at 300 KES, three basins at 800 KES, clothes for my children at 1,000 KES, am still having 1,500 KES, used 1,000 KES to start omena business, gave 2,000 KES to my mother, paid 1,440 KES school fee for my children in school in school, paid 3,500 KES in our women group then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer begging as before because I can now make income from my omena business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 4,250 KES to repair the walls of my house because it was in bad condition. Settled a debt of 2,000 KES. I also purchased family clothes and foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement the floor of my house because at the moment its earth. I'm also planning to furnish my house with the remaining portion.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house so that I don't have to spend much time smearing every now and again because the soil we have around here is of very poor quality, buy chairs that my visitors can use when they visit, and save the remaining amount for my daughter who is joining secondary school next year.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have built an iron roof house through hard work because my husband died nine years ago and left me in grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of sufficient finances to feed, clothe and educate my children since I only do subsistence farming and small businesses that don't help me much.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up. This is because I know God has enabled to see another day and to be able to toil for my children so they can eat and go to school.