chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Monica's Profile
Monica's family
Monica
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought iron sheets 12000 KES, poles and timber 7500 KES, labor charges 5000 KES, clothes and shoes of all the family 5000 KES, school fees 14000 KES and spent the rest on buying utensils and food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of fixing doors and windows and cementing my newly built house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
We used to sit on jerrycans but now I have seats on my house . I do not calls relatives to beg for school fees like I used to. I live comfortably unlike before receiving transfers.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 15000 kshs to buy furniture, bed 4600 kshs, mattress 4400 kshs, 2 sacks of maize at 5000 kshs, utensils at 1500 kshs, l bought 2 suita for my spouse.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was sitting down but now l have furniture to sit on.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000 KSH school fees for my child, I also send 4,000 KSH to my son in the city.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to expand our house, furnish it and to pay school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is the livestock I bought with savings from my casual jobs. I bought a goat and a sheep. I consider this assets which can help me in future. I am proud because now I am more encouraged than ever that I can buy more if I save more.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face now as a family is lack of a sustainable income source. We depend on casual jobs which are very unreliable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to the farm.