chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > James's Profile
James's family
James
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
other
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on James's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a sofaset at 16,000 KES, one mattress at 3,700 KES, one wooden bed at 4,600 KES, clothes and shoes for myself at 2,000 KES, paid 20,000 KES school fee for my son in high school, I then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and gave 5,000 KES to my elder son.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now feeling very happy and peaceful in my heart because I have the things I really wanted.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I cleared 9000 KES secondary school fees balance for my son and I spent the remaining 1000 KES of my token payment on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will clear school fees balance for my son, plaster my main house with sand and cement using this my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my children in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I have a lot of fee balance that I haven't paid in school. I don't have a stable income to pay school fees so my children are frequently sent home due to unpaid fee balances.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the is in the morning when I am in my quarrying site. I feel happy because it has been a source of living to me.