chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Alice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Alice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on digging a pit latrine 20000 KES , bought 10 pieces of iron sheets 7000 KES, cooking pots 4000 KES, boosted my business 10000 KES, nails 2000 KES and used balance on daily meals at home.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that i now have a toilet my business doing great and i am soon finishing my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on 2nd hand clothes business for 5,000 KES, paid secondary school fee for 3,000 KES, and dry maize for 2,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on buying bulls and paying secondary school fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because it's small and I usually host many visitors. I also plan to construct my own pit latrine because I am tired of having to beg to use my neighbour's.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to feed my family through farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is that I have no proper source of income as I depend a lot on fishing which has become so unpredictable. So at times I lack money to pay for my children in school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live and able to engage in my daily activities such as farming.