chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Elida's Profile
Elida's family
Elida
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Elida's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought 25 iron sheets for 15,500 KES, nails for 2,600 KES, poles for 5,000 KES, and paid 6,000 KES as labour to construct our house. We also bought two tables 5,000 KES, seats for 6,000 KES and a mattress for 3,000 KES. The rest was spent on daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a very small house that could not properly fit my children and our belongings, but since I constructed a bigger house I am much more comfortable as there is enough space to keep our belongings and also sleeping rooms.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES on starting a stone mining business, 2200 KES on food, 1000 KES on school uniforms and 2000 KES on a mattress.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building an iron roofed house and buying cattle.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on joining a women sacco by taking Ksh. 3000 from the first transfer which I will pay as membership fee so that it can enable me to have savings and get a loan also in future. I will use Ksh. 5000 to hire a piece of land that will enable me to open up a stone quarry and the remaining Ksh. 2000 I will use in buying food for the hired workers who will be working on my quarry. I will spend my second transfer by saving Ksh. 30,000 in the women sacco, I will spend Ksh. 10,000 on buying a calf so that I can rear at my home and the remaining Ksh. 10,000 I will invest on my business of stone quarrying so that I can be able to buy household items like a bed using the cash that will be generated by the business. The third transfer I will spend on building a house for my children as some of them are now grown ups and tradition does not allow them to continue sharing a house with me.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that my husband died and left me when we still did not have our own home but I managed to work in the stone quarry thereby saving some cash for over 15 years that enabled me to build my house and take care of my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my two sons who are grown ups never got a chance to go to school as we never had cash to take them to school hence they are jobless and they look up to me for their needs while my other kids are still in school and they too depend on my for school fees. This is not easy on me as I am a widow and sometimes work in the stone quarry is not easy.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the stone quarry site in the morning to do some casual work of digging,I feel happy when I get paid in the evening and I am able to buy food for my family.