chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Godfrey's Profile
Godfrey's family
Godfrey
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Carpentry
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I had constructed a semi-permanent house of 32 iron sheets with the second transfer, but It had not reached the level that I felt contented with since I ran out of money before I could do the finishing but when I received the third transfer, I furnished the house and did the finishing. I am happy it looks good now!
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second transfer on buying 23 pieces of iron sheets 13,800 KES,timbers 7,000 KES, building poles 7,000 KES,nail 3,500 KES, water for construction 1,500 KES,a steel door 7,000 KES and fascia board 3,200 KES .I paid workers 7,500 KES and the remaining amount I bought food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest different in my daily life is that I have renovated my house into a four roomed from a two roomed house, thus my house is now spacious and it can fit my family and I.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,000 KES to buy a mattress, spent 2,000 KES to increase business stock and the rest was spent on buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a new bigger house with better roofing.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because it's small, expand my capentry business in order to increase my income and be able to construct a pit latrine and educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I nolonger depend on my parents. I have worked hard to set up a home for my family that makes me very proud.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack a good source of income because my capentry business earns me very little income and that is the reason I live in a very small house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I set off for work and I am optimistic that I can earn some income by the end of the day to meet my family's financial needs.