GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emily's Profile
Emily's family
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($486 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that I have accomplished some of my dreams. Recent I was able to build a latrine, a bathroom and cemented my house. These are dreams that I had been yearning to achieve but I was not able to achieve them because of financial constraints. I am a hairdresser and sometime's when I go for maternity leave all my customers go to different saloons and sometimes I do not have a regular flow of customers which did not enable me to achieve all the goals.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I do not have a new goal. I want to continue plastering my house because I started the work but did not complete it. I have been motivated to finish this project because I understand that any goal can be met as long as I work hard to achieve it.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had a project that I had been yearning to accomplish for some time now. When I received the money I decided to first work on it. I built two latrines, a bathroom and cemented my house too although it is not yet complete. I did not have a latrine, I only depended on a temporary one which was covered by banana leaves. This was also risky because of its temporary nature in that, it could have collapsed anytime. My house now looks good and I thanks GiveDirectly very much for improving my living standards.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I now have a stable income from the shop business that I recently started. As soon as the building was complete, I stocked the shop and had someone work in it. It has already picked up and is doing so well. I am very certain that once all the finishing on the building is complete, all the proceeds from the business will be a very descent income for me.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My goal is to complete the shop back that I am building. I want to finish the construction well since this is one off activity that I will be earning from its stability for a long time.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent transfer on building a shop on my parcel of land that I own back at home. I am very grateful that the money came at a time when my family had just decided to give me a portion of land that is near the road that is very ideal for a shop. Some of the money then went to stocking the shop that is now a vibrant point of sale.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($199 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goals are now to build a shop in my rural home in Kakamega county where I can hire someone to run it, until the time that I will retire there to run it myself.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I did not have to worry so much about settling my children in school in January, like I did in the previous years. I had their school fees ready and I am grateful to Give Directly that I can concentrate on other things as my children stay in school.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to boost my salon business. My business entails looking for salon customers in the Central Business District in Nairobi, where I bring them to the salon that I am stationed, still in town, that I pay for the seat I use, and I also pay some commission to the owner. I also do house calls to offer salon services, even here in Mathare. I spent a good amount of the transfers to purchase hair braids that I can sell to my customers whenever they come for my services. I will make more money out of this. I invested in this business because this is what feeds my family most of the time. My husband is a painter and he has had no job for the past one year. Painting jobs have been rare and he has had no income for a while. We have three children who also require school fees. My salon job has been what we have depended on for a while now. I am happy that I could boost my job and now I can make better money. I also spent the transfers to pay school fees and purchase text books for my children. The remainder of the transfers I did some shopping in my house and I also bought food.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was in the Central Business District in Nairobi looking for customers when I heard a message come into my phone, I checked my phone and it was the Mpesa message. I was very happy, I could not imagine an amount of 20000 KES in my phone. Indeed God was truly great at that moment. I was very happy. I did not tell anyone at that moment, I kept on looking for my customers and I stayed at work on that day. I then eventually bought hair braids and I spent the rest on Christmas and on my children's schooling.
access_time over 1 year ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will use this money first to invest in my salon business by adding more stock in terms of wig,weave,braids so that to enhance my customer base. Secondly I will also use this money to invest in a shop business in our rural home that will be stocking basic household items . I will also use this money to pay for my children school fees come next year January.
Describe your biggest worry.
My most troubling worry is always about getting money to meet my daily needs like food for my household since our income is very low and at times seeing my children go hungry makes me feel sad. I also do worry about health status in our family since at times seeking medical attention is very costly.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to educate my children and ensure that my family has good lifestyle and good upbringing and also to ensure that we live a happy and healthy family.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I usually start my day by doing house chores and preparing my children for school. I also later go to my salon business up to evening or around 9pm. While in my free time I do relax in the house with my children and family and at times visit my relatives and friends.