GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 25,000 KES to my daughter in boarding secondary school, paid 8,000 KES for my son in day secondary school, I bought seats worth 10,000 KES and a radio at 1,500 KES. I also bought a bag of dry maize at 3,000 KES and another bag of millet at 2,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to pay school fees for my children and am happy that they will successfully complete their secondary education. I am relieved of any stress that I would be having on where to get school fees.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000 KES school fees for my daughter. I spent the other 5,000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my daughter's school fees and build a house with the rest.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees especially for my eldest child who is in a technical college and the one in secondary schools. I also plan to plaster the walls and floor of my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising my children as a single parent since my husband died when they were still young. I have literally hustled my way out and I am proud of that.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is the burden of school fees. I also live with orphaned children who I educate.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is mostly in the evening when my brother sends me some cash.