GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Everlyne's Profile
Everlyne's family
Everlyne
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Everlyne's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I added some money to the Lumpsum 1 and bought a second-hand motorbike at 50,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My husband is now able to bring some food home every evening from the motorbike income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,000KES, 10 building poles 3,000KES and then bought 3 kilograms of nails at 750KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We had planned with my husband to buy a second hand motorcycle then use the remaining amount start a fish business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to construct a bigger house. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow. We also plan to spend the transfer to start a business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have managed to buy a sheep. We managed to save money which we used to buy the sheep.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is that we have a small house that cannot accommodate us all. There is no privacy between us and the children because we live in a single roomed house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am weeding in my farm. I always feel very happy because its a source of livelihood to me.