chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kahindi's Profile
Kahindi's family
Kahindi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
58
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kahindi's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($514 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I learned that I had received my transfer at exactly 8 in the morning when I was taking breakfast with my family. I felt so happy and started celebrating with my family since we knew the money will transform our lives in so many ways.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Before the coming of GiveDirectly, I was living in a tiny house and almost collapsing. I have been having the dream of constructing a decent one but I could not afford to purchase the resources. Therefore, having secured a spacious house has brought the biggest difference in my daily life because there's now privacy and I no longer worry about the rains.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some four goats worth KES 12000. I then bought some building materials such as iron sheets, building poles, timber and nails. This was for the construction of a new house since the previous one was in critical condition. I also purchased some plastic chairs to replace the worn-out mats that I have been using. The remaining amount of money, I bought enough foodstuffs for my family and some other household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to repair my house especially replacing the leaking roof and erecting pillars to preserve it for longer. This will need about 38,000 shillings. I will also buy oxen and an ox plough at a cost of 48,000 shillings to expand my farming. The rest will be capital for a grocery business which my daughter will run since she had to drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend my days away from my family, in the nearby forest cutting poles used for building houses. In the evenings, I go back home to rest and spend time with them which makes it a happy moment for me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constraints have been a constant headache in our family. So serious it is that 2 of my children had to drop out of school for lack of school fees. My unreliable income from cutting poles used in building, has further frustrated my efforts of keeping my 2 other kids in school while meeting other family obligations such as provision of food and shelter.