GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Magret's Profile
Magret's family
Magret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
66
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I had constructed a house using my second transfer but I had not cemented it,so,when I received my third transfer,I bought cement and sand that I used to plaster the house. I no longer have to smear with cowdung.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer buying 30 pieces of iron sheets at 21000 KES, school fees at 10000 KES, chairs at 9000 KES while the remaining 9800 KES was spent on food and part of upkeep.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am living in a good house which is well built thus I am not being rained on during rainy seasons.
 
Initial Payment
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy some more iron roofing sheets which I will use to repair my roof. I will also use part of the transfers to buy sand and cement which I will use repair to my floor, part of the transfers will also be used to pay a labourer who will carry out the repairs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a small business selling cereals and onions, the profits from the small business enabled me to educate my children up to standard eight, but unfortunately they could not move on to secondary school level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself and my spouse. My spouse is a polygamous man and thus I have a co-wife, maintaining two families is difficult for him and we often lack basic items like nutritious food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up and get to greet my neighbours. I am usually happy because my neighbours are alive and well.