chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Phoebe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Phoebe's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum payment, I plastered the walls and floor of my main house that cost me 47000 KES and I spent the remaining 3000 KES on a sack of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never thought I could one day move out of a muddy and dusty house that could affect our health with respiratory complications, but thanks to GD I am now living in a healthier house the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 8,000KES for school fees for my child, and bought school shoes @500KES. I spent the rest on groceries and other household expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to repair my house; buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house to make it more presentable. I also plan to start a fish selling business.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to renovate my house, particularly the roof because it's worn out and it's leaking. I am planning to spend the remaining amount on school fees since l have a son who is joining form one.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,I'm proud that I bought a piece of land and build a decent house on it because I was able to save some money while I was selling fruits and vegetables.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I don't have a reliable source of income that can enable me build a house for my son.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the morning when my children bid me goodbye as they go to school.