chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rehema's Profile
Rehema's family
Rehema
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($507 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The transfer has helped me in a way that I am now able to sleep safely without anything to worry about since I have a stable house
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Give directly is helping me like;receiving the money directly into my account, thus making it easy for me to plan on how to use the money, it is also helping me to withdraw the money with ease, and to manage it easily without the help of others. It is efficient, since they monitor if you have received the money or not.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I received the money and I used it to buy some building materials such as stones, sand, iron sheets and cement. I have spent my money to build myself a house. I decided to build a house because the house I had before was almost falling and I was therefore at risk.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($515 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was all alone in the house that morning when I received the transfer notification message. It took me a few minutes to process the message and accept that in deed I had KES55000 in my phone,something that had never happened before. I danced and sang in happiness before informing my husband who was busy going about his daily chores outside the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Every single part of my life has changed since we received the transfer, I say so because when I wake up I see the cows we purchased which is an assurance of a better tomorrow especially when we will have milk for own consumption and for sale which means more income. In the evening I have better lighting now that we are no longer using a kerosene lamp but solar lighting which perfectly lights up the entire house. Having a new mattress however has brought the biggest difference in my daily life at the moment as I sleep more comfortably and experiences no more back pains caused by sleeping on a hard surface.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Most of our first transfer was spent on two cows as we thought that this would the best way to invest the money for long term benefits. We also purchased a mattress as we were sleeping on a mat made of palm which was very uncomfortable. Some of it was used to purchase battery that is solar charged which we are now using for lighting instead of a kerosene lamp and a new phone for me then we spent what we had left on foodstuff and other household needs.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition has been to practice livestock keeping I had wished to have indigenous dairy cows but due to inadequate finance, this dream has never materialized. Receiving this transfer means fulfilling my long term desire. I will purchase 2 cows costing $ 1100.This will be a good source of income because in a day I can sell at least 10 liters of milk per day an earn $ 3. This is enough to sustain my small family of 5 in a day and this will change my life and that of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My most relaxing time is in the evening. It is at this time when I relax and chat with my children. There laughter's waivers my stresses.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of adequate resources to cater for my family has been a big challenge to face. I am a house wife who is not educated and depends on my spouse who is a casual laborer. I a day he earns $ 2 and this is not enough to cater to our needs.