GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Judith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Upon receiving my transfer I had plans of building my own home. Hence I did spend my third transfer 27,000 KES to help in building and the remaining amount I spent on my children's school. One daughter was then in form four and now has completed her form four. It was of great help.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy 30 roofing iron sheet for 19500 KES , a steel door for 7500 KES and a cupboard for 8000 KES. I again paid school fee for my children for 10000 KES and purchase 90 kg corn for 2400 KES for family consumption and the remaining 2600 KES i spent on daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the new and shinny house am living in. My homestead is so bright!
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the token to pay secondary school fees for 2 children (4000), bought a mattress (3500), school uniforms (1000), 10 kg of maize (800), and food (500).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my upcoming lump-sum payment to move to my own compound and build a house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend the transfer on school fees for my two children who are in high school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having financially supported my children through secondary school after the death of their father more than ten years ago.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of money to pay school fees in time for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part day is in the evening when I am cooking dinner for my children.