chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Salina's Profile
Salina's family
Salina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
54
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
My main business at my rural home is that of ploughing rice so when I got my third transfer I decided to buy more farm inputs that would help me get increased yields. I bought fertilizers and used modern farming methods thus my farm yields have increased greatly. This in turn has increased my level of income in the house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second cash transfer to buy windows,a door,transportation fee and paid workers 20000KES,bought 10 packets of fertilizer 20000KES,paid workers 5000KES to prepare the parcel of land,bought a sack 3000KES,food 2000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life is different because I have managed to pay workers on time to prepare the parcel of land and in the next three months, I will be selling rice from the farm.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES on my rice farm, bought utensils, clothes and food with the remaining 5000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will spend the upcoming lumpsum on farming rice and buying steel door and windows for my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend it on farming rice I plan to buy household items like bed,chairs, blankets and food
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am most proud of is my business of farming and selling rice. It has always helped me take care of my family needs
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is having to leave school for my other siblings to also get to a certain level of education due to lack of school fees
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am eating dinner with my family members