chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Stephany's Profile
Stephany's family
Stephany
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House staff (works for others)
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Stephany's next check-in.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am planning to expand my fish business. In doing so, I will earn more income and it will be easy to keep my siblings in school. As the breadwinner, I am planning to save towards their future university school fees. My plan is to ensure they achieve the best in their education. This will allow them to more independent.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that I used to work extremely hard to raise school fees for my siblings as well as foot the bills in the household this was very difficult. Some days my sister was forced to stay at home due to lack of school fees. But with the transfer, the burden has been made lighter and barable.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my recent transfer, I used it to reduce my sister's school fees arrears. She is currently in form two and depends entirely on me to go to school. I am the breadwinner in our household and the backstops with me. So these transfers were of great help.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I felt so good and relieved. The burden of paying school fees for my siblings was weighing me down but when I received this transfer I knew that was sorted.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to open a tailoring business and rent a shop at Pangani shopping center in Nairobi. I learned tailoring in my aunt's place and I will use the transfer to buy a sewing machine and materials to start my own business. Population in Pangani is high, providing a ready market for my business and I therefore hope to make a lot of profit in return. Secondly, I will use the transfer to support my sister's education. She will be joining secondary school next year. Lastly, I will use the transfer to buy food and pay rent in my house.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is lack of a stable source of income because my life will become hard. Meeting our daily needs as a family will become difficult. Since my mother passed on I have shouldered the responsibility of taking care of my siblings. I may be unable to provide my siblings with good education and end up not having a better life in future. Their is a risk of having unwanted pregnancies, drug abuse or involving in criminal activities.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful business woman in future. I would want to open my own company of making clothes and hope to make a lot of profit in return. I will be able to live a good life and be able to take care of my family needs. I would also want to give back to the society by training and nurturing talents of the less fortunate.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts at 7:00am when I wake up in the morning. I take bath, arrange my house and prepare breakfast for my family. I leave for work by 8:30am, to do laundry works in Pangani until 2:00pm, when I return back in my house. I take bath and then leave to my aunt's work place to help her in her tailoring business. I return back at 7:00pm in the evening, prepare supper for my family, then I retire to bed. On Saturdays I attend group meetings and on Sundays I go to church. In my free time I like to relax at home, visit friends or listen to music at home.