GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Subsistence farming
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($529 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($536 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life after receiving the first transfer is a great improvement in our living standards. Currently, we are clothed well with our dietary having improved far beyond our expectations.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
On receiving the money from GiveDirectly, I was really filled with happiness with the hope that all I had been dreaming of achieving in life will be possible. I received a notification at around 5:00 am in the morning, a message which cleared my head of all depressions and thoughts of where our daily food will come from departed my mind.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
On receiving the first transfer from GiveDirectly, I spent that first part of it on buying barbed wire worth 5000 KES which has now changed the face of our compound after fencing. I paid school fees for my son who is currently in the university with part of the remaining amount, bought and installed the solar lighting system and used the remaining on buying household goods which includes foodstuff and clothing.
access_time 2 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
We have been struggling to pay school fees for our two children in secondary school and one in college.Aside from those,there are another two who completed secondary school studies and did well but could not proceed to college because we could not afford to sustain all of them in school at the same time.Receiving this money will enable me pay a part of their fees as well as invest in poultry farming which will in turn provide an income to meet all the fees costs as they proceed with their studies.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening.After a long day of working in the farm as well as taking care of our cows,I finally get time to rest at the end of the day.The day's activities wear me out but since it is what the family depends on,I have to keep working at them till late in the afternoon.During this time,I prepare a meal which we share with the members of my family and this makes me very happy
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My spouse and I are farmers;not by choice but because we do not posess any skill that can guarantee formal employment.We therefore depend fully on what our small farm can produce and this has to meet all the family needs as well as pay school fees.Currently,we have three children in secondary school and colleges and the high costs of education as well as all their needs take a huge toll on us.At some point,we had to cut down trees to keep them in school.Most of the time,the farm does not produce enough at a go to meet these costs and therefore their studies are disrupted when they are sent home.This is the biggest hardship I have faced.