GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Evaline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I spent the whole of it in a second-hand motorcycle.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I could solely depend on fishing, which was tiresome and less lucrative, however, when I got transfers and spent it on a motorcycle, I have been getting at least 2000 KES on a daily basis which has improved our standard of living. We can now eat well, dress well and live better, which is the biggest difference in our daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to save (2000) repay a loan (3000) and bought iron sheets and cement (4800)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand and plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my funds to offset my debts, expand my house because it's small, plaster my house so that I don't use much time smearing and use the remaining amount on school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am an active member of my household that shares financial responsibility with spouse. For example, I purchased household furniture and plastered my floor using money that I saved.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life poor health. My spouse had earlier gone for surgery and so can't do hard work. This affects our ability to work harder and increase our level of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am at the lake buying and selling fish because it's where I earn my daily income.