chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Amos's Profile
Amos's family
Amos
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than how it would have been had I never received the transfer because I now have some assets that I call my own. With the financial aid from GiveDirectly, I was able to acquire two dairy cows and some goats. I believe that they will be calving very soon and increase in number. The income from the sale of it's surplus will enable me to pay school fees for my children in time and also meet some of our basic needs.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well by giving out financial aid to people and I do not see anything that they do not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my transfer, I spent KES 27000 to buy a heifer and three goats for rearing. These are assets to me that I can rely on in educating my children. When they reproduce, my family will have enough milk for consumption and sale. Also, I spent KES 8000 to pay school fees for my daughter so that she could not be sent back home. Using the remaining amount, I bought four sacks of maize, some household necessities and new clothes for my children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 1.30pm while fishing when I heard a message alert on my phone. On checking it, I found out it was the GiveDirectly transfers I had been eagerly waiting for. I was very happy and immediately stopped fishing and went back home to relay the good news to my wife and she was equally excited. That day we didn't have household items but GD came to our rescue on a timely manner.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is owning a dairy cow which I had desired to have for the past six years but couldn't afford. As a casual laborer, I had started saving towards buying a dairy cow but my efforts were unfruitful. The dairy cow will be a source of milk and school fees for my kids in future. The cow will also ensure that I am financially independent and secure.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 25,000 on a heifer because it doesn't have many complications. Initially, I used to buy a liter which is KES 30 per day. I used KES 2500 for purchase of timber meant for completion of my house. I also spent KES 8000 on school uniforms and enrollment of my kids to school. I also spent KES 6000 on two bags of maize in order to ensure adequate food security because it's quite a loss buying maize meal daily and the maize store is quite far. The rest I have saved for completion of my house and goats.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have been aspiring to own a dairy cow to supplement what I earn from doing the casual job of masonry. This venture will give me a reliable source of milk for my family so that I do not keep spending money buying. Milk is also a good source of protein for for my growing children. I love dairy farming and it has been my passion ever since I was a young child. I plan to spend 30000 shillings to buy a quality Friesian cow. From it, I will rest assured that I will get 6-8 litres of milk daily. I will reserve 3 liters of this for domestic use and sell the rest in the nearby market.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I return home with foodstuff for my family. Eating and chatting together with my family gives me joy and relief from the stress of the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a reliable source of income that can support the needs of my family has been my biggest hardship. I purely depend on casual jobs of masonry which I can only earn shillings 300 in a day.This is not enough to cater for my household expenses like buying milk and other household food stuffs. Skipping meals has always been the norm and my children have a habit of going to eat in my neighbours homes which is bringing me a lot of shame