chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Saumu's Profile
Saumu's family
Saumu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Saumu's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($538 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was previously living in a small grass-thatched hut, which was not in a good state. I am grateful to GiveDirectly for their financial support. I managed to acquire building materials which include Iron sheets and building poles for the construction of a new spacious iron-roofed house. Being able to achieve all this is the biggest difference in my life.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was woken up by a message alert on my phone. On checking to confirm who the sender was, it was from GiveDirectcly. I was greatly filled happiness when I realised that I had received money in my Mpesa account.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of the first transfer on buying building materials which include building poles and iron sheets to construct a new house. The house that I was previously living in was grass thatched and was in a bad state and not spacious. I am now in the process of building the new house through financial support from GiveDirectly. I addition to this, I also bought two goats to rear in my homestead. To me, having these goats are assets that I can readily depend on in case of financial difficulties. I am expecting them to reproduce and increase in number. I spent the remaining amount to do the shopping for my family. I purchased adequate foodstuffs and paying for some other household expenses.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Since my husband and I are still both young and vibrant, we have decided to enrol in driving and tailoring colleges respectively and equip ourselves with skills that will help us generate income for our family. The income will go towards food, medication, savings for our children's education and other basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My best part of the day is in the afternoon when my children take a nap, am able to concentrate on my work and ensure I earn some income for the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Due to limited financial resources I had to drop out of school at grade five and got married a year later hoping things will be greener on that side. Sadly, nothing has improved and infact the struggles have multiplied because now I have 3 more mouths to feed. I am unemployed and only rely on casual jobs such as charcoal burning to make ends meet.