chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Alfonce's Profile
Alfonce's family
Alfonce
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Since Covid pandemic was reported in the country, life took a new turn. I moved from the city to my rural home where life was much cheaper. I was lucky to have saved some amount, I bought a motorcycle and would operate myself, I then opened a barber shop for my wife so that she would make se income. The challenge was about power where I had only one battery which when I had no charge she wouldn't work. When we received second transfers we bought a new battery so that we would have power throughout and generate income. Now we can make between 2 USD and 4 USD per day which is enough to cater for our family needs.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly did well by visiting every household and identify eligible people. I like the fact that the process was fair and there were no cases of bribery involved. To me, I didn't see anything that was not done rightfully by those who were tasked to enroll and call.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The second transfers which I received from GiveDirectly, I spent KES 10000 on buying and fixing ceiling boards for my house. I spent another amount of KES 12500 on buying a battery which I am using at my barbershop. Before I use to have only one and when it had no charge, I wouldn't shave and this would mean that I wouldn't make some money. The remaining amount, I spent KES 11000 on buying two goats and a sheep. The rest, I spent on buying some clothings for my children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received my transfers at six in the morning while still in bed and was very excited because I knew bmy dream of buying a dairy cow was coming to reality. I hadn't receive such an amount before and I even went ahead and called the GD hotline number just to express my deepest gratitude.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is buying a high quality dairy cow which will be a source of milk and income for payment of kid's fees.Before, I had only one dairy cow which is currently in it's dry period. I also bought the dairy cow in order ensure constant milk supply throughout the year that's when one is in it's dry period the other one is lactating. This will enable me cut on milk purchase costs completely.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent 400 dollars of my transfer on a dairy cow which is now four months pregnant in order to reduce milk purchase costs. I also spent 50 dollars on a goat because it gives birth twice a year. I have also saved the rest for livestock emergency treatment because in our region livestock diseases are prevalent.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money would mean a lot to me. I am a married man and I have people who depend on me. Marriage has it's own challenges and more often than not I get overwhelmed. Putting food on the table for them is the biggest challenge. Every morning, for instance, I spend 50 shillings to buy milk for my young children, totaling to 1500 every other month. This is so much for me to raise because I am unemployed. I have plans to buy a cow worth 30000 shillings to save me from these daily expenditures. This will also enable me to make some savings for a rainy day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I always find happiness every other morning, this is so because it is the time I get to have a sit down with my wife to plan to on how the day will be. We also plan on how to execute various family activities. This brings so much hope that better days are coming for us.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My experience as a job seeker in Kenya's capital city, Nairobi, is one that would stay in my mind for as long as I live. I could move from office to office dropping application letters hoping for a response but none came through. It was a life full of agony and stress. I could trek from one part of the city to the next because I had no fare to board a taxi. Every other end month my landlord was on my neck because of unpaid rent arrears until he decided to throw me out. That is when I decided to go back home. The entire ordeal made me feel like the whole world was against me. I have never gotten even a single call from the many application letters I dropped in various offices, something that is making me hate Nairobi even more.