chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Diana's Profile
Diana's family
Diana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Diana's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also paid my dowry,started cattle business and paid medical bills for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children now eats well since I have money from my business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a sheep,cussions for my chairs,clothes and maize for my family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to start a grocery and clothes business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'd like to build my own home, as my husband died and left me in a simba. Besides that, I'd like to start a small business that will sustain the family. If I have anything left, I plan to buy a few heads of cattle for milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I have a small brood of chicken, and am happiest tending to them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I am HIV positive, and living with this knowledge makes me very sad. But I have to remain upbeat for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Am happiest tending to my garden because I know am able to provide for my family through subsistence agriculture.