GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maurine's Profile
Maurine's family
Maurine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on paying off dowry .I paid school fees for my child and added six iron sheets to build my homestead.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a motorcycle valued at 45,000 KES,paid 2,000 KES on school fees and spent the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is buying a motorcycle which is my family's major source of income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my token payment, we spent it as follows; 3500 KES on 10 cushions, 4500 KES on a mattress and the remaining 2000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We had planned with my spouse to buy a second-hand motorcycle with our upcoming lumpsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house, we will spend the second transfer on buying a motorcycle as the one my husband uses is a hired one and the remaining transfer we will spend it on building a bigger house as we plan to buy twenty iron sheets and cement.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that we were able to build our own house and have some furniture in it even though they are few. This we were able to do with the cash that my husband saved while doing motorcycle transport business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that our income is very low and the motorcycle my husband is using belongs to someone else and most of the times he comes home without any money hence forcing us to go a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and I am able to prepare breakfast for my family so that they can start their day.