GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Faith's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 15000 KES of the first lumpsum in school, paid a deposit of 30000 KES on land that I should buy, bought a sheep at 3500 KES and used ther rest of the money in buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I feel happy because I know I'll soon own land being that I have already paid deposit of the land.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid my secondary school fees using 5000 KES of my token payment then I spent 3000 KES on a sack of maize, 1500 KES on a sheep and the remaining 500 KES on vegetables.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on a land.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to purchase land so I can move out of my father's compound, buy Iron sheets for a new house and fence my compound for security purposes.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have chairs in my house today that my visitors can sit on. I purchased them with money that I earned from farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I lack reliable source of income, I am a forth form leaver but because I have no college qualification I am not able to get a job. I'd love to be a nurse.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest during the day when I am interacting with friends.