chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Lydia's Profile
Lydia's family
Lydia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lydia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($487 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying Iron sheet, polls, sand and nails that I used in building a new house because my previous house was in a very bad shape and was also very old
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I was able to build a new house, now I have a home of my own
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($96 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent most of my first transfer on a steel door because i had a rusted iron sheet door that could not guarantee security for my family. The other part of my transfer was spent on clothes and food for my household.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very happy the moment i received my money because i knew that my life will never remain the same again.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Our first plan is to use part of the transfer to build a bigger house, because this one is small. Secondly, we intend to use another part of the transfer to buy two cows, to pay dowry for my wife. Lastly, we plan to use the remaining amount to plough our farms for food security.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we are very proud of is, having our own home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have faced is, inadequate income to buy food and pay school levies for our children in primary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoons, when I am relaxing at home, after I have returned from my casual work.