chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
53
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on David's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 12 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will mean water security for my family. We live in an arid area and it doesn't rain often. I have 5 children living with me while one has his own family. Because they are in Scholl it means my wife has to go fetch water to be used at home at a local stream. The stream is about 5km from our home and the terrain is hilly. She has to do this everyday and it's exhausting to her, that is why this money will help us in purchasing a big water tank worth KES 20,000. The water tank will be used to store rain water collected from our iron roofed house when it rains, the water can also be fetched just once in a week, stored to be used for a whole week. This will save us from walking for a distance everyday to collect it. The remaining amount of the transfer I'll use to pay school fees for my children and buy a dairy cow and 2 goats that will serve as future investments.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening, this is because after working the whole day I get paid for my labour and my family gets to have food on the table.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is unemployment. Before COVID 19 I was employed to work in a farm that acted as a hotel for tourists in Narok, but most of us were had to go home because the pandemic affected tourism. Though the job was only paying KES 15,000 per month it would help in sustaining my family's needs.But now I have to look for jobs every now and then with a likelihood of not finding any in a month. I am not able to pay school fees for my children consistently nor provide other basic needs such as food, clothing and clean water for our use.