chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Justina's Profile
Justina's family
Justina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
63
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($466 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I have been buying milk for my family consumes so when I received my third transfer I bought three cows for milk production purposes. I will no longer have to buy milk. I also bought some goats that will help me in school fees for my children in the future. I also bought two sacks of corn for my family consumes.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spend my second transfer on buying 20 iron sheets at 13,000 KES,a cow at 18,000 KES, roofing poles at 3,000 KES, wall poles at 2,500 KES, construction nails at 1,000 KES,a sack of maize at 3,500 KES,paid 2,000 KES on transportation of these materials , 3,000 KES on labour charges and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having a new kitchen which i didn't have before and the fact that my family eats and sleeps well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy a cow KES 3000, a bag of maize KES 2800, paid secondary school fees for my child KES 3000, and bought food KES 1050.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a kitchen, pay secondary school fees and shop for my visually impaired mother.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to start a business selling in livestock I plan to take my mother to the hospital to have her eyes treated since she can't see I plan to pay school fees for my niece I plan to build a kitchen for myself
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am most proud of is starting my own business of selling livestock. Without this business I couldn't have managed to take care of my family
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is when my mother lost her eyesight and I was the one left with the burden of taking care of her since am her only child
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during the evening when I have done selling the sisal I normally sell and now have money to buy my children food