GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying building materials (28 iron sheets,a steel door and 4 windows).I still have 20,000 KES which I want to use in building .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have is that I have utensils in my house hence I don't borrow.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought superdrum 1500, utensils 2100 KES, shoes 450 KES, paid debt 3000 KES, gave my husband 2000 KES and the rest i spent for food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house with the upcoming lumpsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails, iron roofing sheets, wire mesh and bricks which we will use to build a homestead.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having met and married a wonderful husband who has built me a house and we are now planning to build our own homestead.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to start my own hairdressing business, I currently work for other people and the pay is not very good. If I could start my own business it would really benefit my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am from work and I am relaxing with my husband as we chat.